Skip navigation

05 – Jeongmoon Choi »Drawing in Space – Ultraviolet«

Salzstadel

“Drawing in Space – Ultraviolet” constantly encourages perception to supplement the concretely visible in an imaginary way. A unique spatial and depth effect is created through the interplay of surfaces and lines on the one hand and the contrasting relationship between different perspectives on the other. The architectural characteristics become the starting point for complex, walk-through installations made of threads stretched across the space and fluorescing in black light. Threedimensional, accessible drawings, Jeongmoon Choi creates fragile spatial constructions which, in connection with the existing architecture and in the constant change of perspective of moving through them, constantly generate new visual worlds, new realities.

Jeongmoon Choi illuminates the darkness with her installations, which give the impression of being virtual. They encourage reflection on analogue and digital “positions”, structures, movements and perspectives in space. Born in Seoul and living in Berlin, the artist originally studied painting. She studied at Sungshin University in Seoul and at the University of Fine Arts Kassel. She lives and works in Berlin and Seoul, and her work has been exhibited in various private and public galleries and institutions around the world.

This website uses cookies to give you the best possible experience. By using our site, you agree to this. Learn more about how we use cookies and how you can change your settings in our Privacy Policy.

Navigation überspringen

05 – Jeongmoon Choi »Drawing in Space – Ultraviolet«

Salzstadel

„Drawing in Space – Ultraviolet“ fordert die Wahrnehmung immer wieder dazu auf, das konkret Sichtbare imaginär zu ergänzen. Durch das gemeinsame Zusammenspiel von Flächen und Linien einerseits und der Kontrastbeziehung verschiedener Perspektiven andererseits wird eine einzigartige Raum- und Tiefenwirkung geschaffen. Die architektonischen Charakteristika werden zum Ausgangspunkt für komplexe, durchschreitbare Installationen aus raumgreifend gespannten und im Schwarzlicht fluoreszierenden Fäden. Dreidimensionalen, begehbaren Zeichnungen gleich erschafft die Künstlerin fragile Raumkonstruktionen, die in Verbindung mit der bestehenden Architektur und im steten Perspektivwechsel des Hindurchbewegens immer wieder neue Bildwelten, neue Realitäten erzeugen.

Jeongmoon Choi erhellt die Dunkelheit mit ihren Installationen, die den Eindruck erwecken virtuell zu sein. Sie regen zum Nachdenken an über analoge und digitale „Positionen“, Strukturen, Bewegungen und Perspektiven im Raum. Die in Seoul geborene und in Berlin lebende Künstlerin hat ursprünglich Malerei studiert. Sie studierte an der Sungshin Universität in Seoul und an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Kassel. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Seoul, ihre Arbeiten wurden bereits in verschiedenen privaten und öffentlichen Galerien und Institutionen auf der ganzen Welt ausgestellt.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen das bestmögliche Erlebnis zu bieten. Durch die Nutzung unserer Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie Ihre Einstellungen ändern können in unserer Datenschutzerklärung